This is the "Home" page of the "Archives - Ramapo College" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives - Ramapo College   Tags: archives  

Ramapo College Archives
Last Updated: Apr 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ramapo.edu/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mission and Purpose: Archives and Special Collections

The mission of the Ramapo College Archives is to serve as the institutional memory of the College.

The Archives’ primary purpose is to document the history of the College by housing, preserving, and making accessible selected records and materials that possess enduring historical, research, legal, and administrative value.

At present, the Archives space also houses Special Collections. These include faculty publications, faculty research material, and items related to subjects studied or presented at the College, especially those associated with Northern New Jersey.

Both the Archives and Special Collections promote the use of primary materials to nurture and support creative teaching and to stimulate learning. The Archives and Special Collections serve research and scholarship by making available and encouraging the use of their materials by members of the College and by the community at large.

 

Collection Development Policy


Every effort is made to collect, preserve, and store pertinent materials related to the purpose of the Archives. Materials collected include but are not limited to:

  • Agendas and minutes of Board of Trustee meetings
  • Ramapo College Catalogs

  • Student publications including newspapers, yearbooks, literary publications, and honors theses

 

Collection Organization

 Archival items in print format are arranged according to a locally developed classification scheme.

Individual titles are listed in a shelflist.

Click here to search for material in our collection

In addition, there are a number of items in the Archives that are arranged according to the Library of Congress classification system. These include:
 
MALS theses (1997-present)
 
 

Access to the Archives

The Ramapo College Archives is located on the 4th floor of the George T. Potter Library, Room L-418.

CLICK HERE TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT

Access to Archives material is available by appointment only for reference and research by administrators, faculty, students, alumni, and other interested parties during the following times:

Monday   
10:30 AM - 4 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
By appointment
Thursday
12 Noon - 4:30 PM
Friday (Fall & Spring Semesters)
9:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Other hours may be available through special arrangement.
Same day access may be available if staffing permits.
  • Archival materials do not circulate - they may be used only within the Archives

  • Photocopying is allowed unless the material is deemed to be too fragile

  • Exceptions to the terms and times of use are at the discretion of the College Archivist and/or the College Librarian/Dean

 

Use of the Archives

Users must review the "Rules for Use of Materials" posted in the Archives to ensure the proper care and use of the collection.

In addition:

  • Ramapo users must present a valid Ramapo ID to the Archives/Reference librarian
  • Non-Ramapo researchers must present a valid photo ID to the Archives/Reference librarian
  • All users must sign in and when finished for the day, sign out
  • Eating and drinking in the Archives area - including covered beverages - is prohibited
 

Policy and Procedure Review

Policies and procedures are subject to review by the College Archivist and the Library Faculty, and are at the discretion of the College Librarian/Dean.

 

Donations

The Ramapo College Archives welcomes donations relating to the history of the College.

Before sending a donation, please contact Susan Kurzmann at skurzman@ramapo.edu or 201.684.7199

Ramapo College Archivist

Profile Image
Susan Kurzmann
Contact Info
Ramapo College Archivist, Reference & Instruction Librarian
skurzman@ramapo.edu
201.684.7199
Office: L-306
Archives: L-418
Telephone: 201.684.7580
 

Library Hours

Library Hours
Fall & Spring Semesters
(Check here for all hours)
 
Sun.: Noon-2 a.m.
Mon.-Thurs.: 8 a.m.-2 a.m.
Fri.: 8 a.m.-7 p.m.
Sat.: 11 a.m.-7 p.m.

 

    Research Help Desk Hours:

    Sun.: 2 p.m.-10 p.m.
    Mon.-Thurs.: 9 a.m.-10 p.m.
    Fri.: 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
    Sat.: 12-4 p.m.
     
    Image accessed 4-October-2011: http://www.highsmith.com/upstart/Library-Wall-ClockSo-Many-Books-So-Little-Time-c_28323432/

     

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip